Skip to content

Seedance vs Kling: price per second at 720p and 1080p

Two billing systems, one comparison. Token-priced Seedance and unit-priced Kling, converted to dollars per second.

Updated

On this page
  1. 720p side by side
  2. 1080p side by side
  3. Why the price curves differ
  4. Audio and clip length
  5. Reseller premiums
  6. Keeper rate and break-even
  7. Which costs less?
  8. Questions people ask
  9. Sources

At 720p, Seedance 2.0 on BytePlus ($0.15/s) costs about the same as Kling 4.0 ($0.154/s) and more than Kling 3.0 with audio ($0.126/s). Seedance 2.5 is $0.231/s. At 1080p, Seedance costs more than Kling. Resellers can double the Seedance price.

Last checked . Prices are re-checked every week (planned: Wednesdays). Each row shows its own check date; a row older than 14 days is out of date.

720p side by side

Prices are first-party list prices. The usable-clip column takes one 8 s generation and divides by a 50% keeper rate, an assumption you can change in the calculator, not a measurement of either model.

ModelRoutePer secondOne 8 s attemptPer usable 8 s clip at 50%
Seedance 2.0 MiniBytePlus$0.08/s$0.64$1.28
Seedance 2.0 FastBytePlus$0.12/s$0.96$1.92
Kling 3.0 (audio on)Kling API$0.126/s$1.01$2.02
Seedance 2.0BytePlus$0.15/s$1.20$2.40
Kling 4.0Kling API$0.154/s$1.23$2.46
Seedance 2.5BytePlus$0.231/s$1.85$3.70
Seedance 2.0fal.ai$0.303/s$2.43$4.85
Bar chart of the cost of one 8-second 720p clip: Seedance 2.0 Mini $0.64 cheapest, Kling 3.0 about $1.01, Seedance 2.0 $1.20, Kling 4.0 about $1.23, Seedance 2.5 $1.85, Seedance 2.0 on fal.ai $2.43
Cost of one 8-second clip at 720p (price per second x 8), base variant, one attempt. Audio is included only where marked; BytePlus does not state it for Seedance. Data: ClipCost price table.

1080p side by side

ModelRoutePer secondPer usable 8 s clip at 50%
Kling 3.0 Turbo (audio on)Kling API$0.14/s$2.24
Kling 3.0 (audio on)Kling API$0.168/s$2.69
Kling 4.0Kling API$0.231/s$3.69
Seedance 2.0BytePlus$0.37/s$5.92
Seedance 2.5BytePlus$0.569/s$9.10
Seedance 2.0fal.ai$0.682/s$10.91

Seedance 2.0 is the only one of these with a 4K price ($0.78/s); Kling 3.0 lists 4K at $0.42/s. Seedance 2.0 Fast and Mini stop at 720p. Seedance 2.5 has no 4K.

Why the price curves differ

Seedance bills tokens. BytePlus counts tokens as output seconds x width x height x frame rate / 1024, so cost grows with pixels. The 720p to 1080p step is about 2.5 times on Seedance 2.0 and 2.5. The per-second values here are BytePlus's own 5 s, 16:9 price examples divided by 5. A request with an input video uses a higher token price ($7.70 against $7.00 per million on 2.0; $11.70 against $10.70 on 2.5) and the input seconds count too.

Kling bills units. Kling publishes units per second; the dollar figure is units x the unit price. On the general packs a unit is $0.14, and the flagship 4.0 packs start at about $0.1538 per unit. 1080p is 1.33 to 1.5 times the 720p rate, which is why Kling pulls ahead as resolution rises. Audio adds 50% on Kling 3.0. All Kling dollar figures on this page are derived from the unit table, not printed prices. See the methodology.

Audio and clip length

Audio: Kling 3.0 has an explicit audio price. Kling 4.0 audio is native with no toggle, per the Runway API docs. BytePlus's price page does not state audio for Seedance; fal.ai and Luma list native audio for it. If audio matters, confirm it on the endpoint you buy.

Length: Seedance 1.0 Pro lists up to 10 s. A maximum for Seedance 2.0 and 2.5 was not stated on the BytePlus price page, and none for Kling 4.0 on Kling's page. Kling 3.0 is listed at 15 s on a Replicate page. Check the model reference before planning long single shots. See length limits.

Reseller premiums

If you pay through an app plan instead of an API, use the credits guide. The wider reseller picture is in fal.ai vs Replicate vs direct API.

Keeper rate and break-even

No provider publishes how many generations people keep. Use ratios. Seedance 2.0 at 720p costs about 1.2 times Kling 3.0 with audio, so it only wins per usable clip if you keep about 1.2 times as many of its clips. Seedance 2.5 costs about 1.5 times Kling 4.0 at 720p and 2.5 times at 1080p. That is the minimum keeper-rate advantage you would need to justify the gap.

Which costs less?

  • Pick Seedance 2.0 Mini or Fast on BytePlus for the lowest 720p bill in this comparison.
  • Pick Kling 3.0 for the lowest-cost audio-on 720p or 1080p among the full-size models here.
  • Pick Kling 4.0 over Seedance when you work at 1080p and the price gap matters more than the tier.
  • Pick Seedance 2.0 on BytePlus over fal.ai when you can use the first-party API: the same model costs about half.
  • Pay a reseller premium only for one bill, no prepaid pack or an account you already hold.

Questions people ask

Is Seedance cheaper than Kling?

At 720p, Seedance 2.0 Mini and Fast are cheaper than Kling 3.0 and 4.0, while full Seedance 2.0 is close to Kling 4.0. At 1080p, Kling is cheaper than Seedance 2.0 and 2.5.

How much does Seedance 2.5 cost per second?

$0.231/s at 720p and $0.569/s at 1080p on BytePlus, derived from BytePlus's 5 s examples. fal.ai's US endpoint is higher.

Why is Seedance on fal.ai more expensive?

fal.ai charges $0.014 per 1,000 tokens for Seedance 2.0, twice the BytePlus rate of $7.00 per million tokens.

Does Kling have a prepaid minimum?

Kling's API packs are prepaid: $500 for flagship 4.0 and $700 for general models, valid 180 days. A $9 trial pack exists for first-time buyers.

Sources

Prices and limits were read from the sources below on the dates shown. They change often: confirm on the provider's page before you pay.